Commission on Ministry

The Commission on Ministry is a body required by the canons of the Episcopal Church for every diocese, and it is charged with assisting the diocesan bishop in three specific ways:

  • in the implementation of Title III, the general canons dealing with ministry,
  • in the determination of present and future opportunities and needs for the ministry of all baptized persons, and
  • in the design and oversight of the ongoing process for recruitment, discernment, formation for ministry, and assessment of readiness therefor. (Canon III.2, Sec. 2)

Information on the process toward ordination

Discernment of a call to ordained ministry begins at the local level under the supervision of a parish priest.

After that, a number of steps are involved to explore the call further, and the Commission on Ministry has created a process to assist with that.

Ordination process handbook

Information on materials that need to be submitted for each step is in the ordination process handbook.

Academic standards for formation

A guide to the expectations for academic study for those in the ordination process, prepared by the diocesan Board of Examining Chaplains.

Members of the Commission on Ministry

Members of the Commission on Ministry for the Episcopal Diocese of Kansas, with their parishes and the year their term of office ends, are:

The Rev. Andrew O’Connor, Good Shepherd, Wichita (2022), Chair Email

The Rev. Tom Baker, St. Aidan’s, Olathe (2023) Email

Mrs. Jeanine Blessant, St. Peter’s, Pittsburg (2024) Email

Deacon Oliver Bunker, St. Timothy’s, Iola (2024) Email

Ms. Roxie Drautz, St. Michael and All Angels, Mission (2024) Email

Deacon Sandy Horton-Smith, St. Paul’s, Manhattan (2023) Email

The Rev. Marc McDonald, St. Andrew’s, Emporia (2023). Email

Mrs. Debbie Oehmke, St. Andrew’s, Derby (2024) Email

The Rev. Marco Serrano, St. Margaret’s, Lawrence (2023) Email

The Commission on Ministry administrator is Michele Moss of the diocesan staff. She is the person to whom forms need to be addressed.

She can be reached by email, phone (800) 473-3563 or (785) 235-9255, or mail, 835 SW Polk St., Topeka, KS 66612-1688.

Assisting the Commission on Ministry are the Examining Chaplains.

The Examining Chaplains

The Rev. David Cox, Ph.D., St. Michael and All Angels, Mission, Chair Email

Mr. Mike Morrow, St. Stephen’s, Wichita. Email

Deacon Robert Schwaller, Ph.D., Trinity, Lawrence. Email

The Very Rev. Vicki Smith, St. David’s, Topeka. Email

The Very Rev. Don Compier, Ph.D., Dean of Bishop Kemper School for Ministry, Topeka, ex officio. Email

©2010—2022 The Episcopal Diocese of Kansas