About the Diocese

A diocese is the geographic area overseen by a bishop. The word “episcopal” comes from the Greek word for bishop, meaning an overseer.

The Episcopal Diocese of Kansas includes more than 8,500 members in 44 congregations, as well as two social service agencies.

The diocese covers the eastern 40 percent of the state of Kansas, extending as far west as Abilene and Wichita. It also includes the cities of Topeka, Lawrence, Manhattan and the entire Kansas City metropolitan area on the Kansas side of the state line.

The diocese also includes a great part of one the geological wonders of the Midwest – the Flint Hills, a unique area of tallgrass prairie that features a rolling landscape stretching almost the width of the state and into northern Oklahoma.

Our diocese is one of 111 dioceses in the Episcopal Church, which has a membership of about 2 million people in the United States and 17 other countries. We’re also part of the Anglican Communion, joining us with some 70 million people in more than 160 countries who trace their lineage to the Church of England.

©2010—2022 The Episcopal Diocese of Kansas